Authors and Poets
Authors and Poets

Photos used with permission from the Academy of American Poets

Last updated:
September 5, 2018
Lori M. Cameron, editor

LIGHT & GLORY by Nina Tassi

September 5th, 2018

Nina Tassi’s new poems in LIGHT & GLORY celebrate the human spirit, exploring the interplay of light and darkness through the ages, finding kinship with Biblical prophets, Irish monks, a Tibetan boy and an American scientist, among others — all spiritual seekers who struggle to break through life’s dark mysteries to hidden light beyond.

To purchase an autographed copy of LIGHT & GLORY at a postage-free discount directly from the author, please send $17.00, your name and address, and the name you wish inscribed on the book, to:

NINA TASSI
2500 JOHNSON AVE.
#17 J
RIVERDALE, NY 10463

If you prefer, click here to purchase from amazon.com.

The Spring 2018 issue is available!

April 19th, 2018

The Spring 2018 issue has been released!

If you would like to order a subscription or copy, the Spring 2018 issue is now in the webshop. Subscriptions are $16. You can make a single-copy purchase of $8 as well. If you’d rather order by mail, make check payable to The Penwood Review and mail to P. O. Box 862, Los Alamitos, CA 90720.

Spirit Ascending by Nina Tassi

March 27th, 2016

Nina Carey Tassi’s SPIRIT ASCENDING takes a bold journey across time and space, encountering spiritual seekers along the way who reveal in their own voices the various and mysterious paths they follow in their search for the Divine, some stumbling in darkness, others rising to the intimacy of God’s radiance.

Available at Amazon.com.

Light: A Collection of Poems by James G. Piatt

January 28th, 2016

Light

A Collection of Poems
Authored by James G. Piatt
Available on Amazon and Barnes and Noble

In his third poetry collection with Broken Publications, James takes us on a journey through life, death, love, devotion, the world, and beauty in the way that only this poet can. With striking prose and vivid metaphors, this collection offers readers imaginative and thought-provoking introspection accentuated by beautiful, lucid imagery.

A Parable of Women: Poems

February 2nd, 2011

It is my pleasure to post a book review by Janet McCann for A Parable of Women: Poems written by my good friend, Philip C. Kolin.  (The review originally appeared in the Spring 2010 issue.)

—————————————————————————————-

—reviewed by Janet McCann

A Parable of Women is an appealing chapbook on several levels. Between its covers pass an array of women, biblical and contemporary, holy and unholy, healthy and damaged, relatives and saints, at odd points in their lives. Just the gallery of them in their variety is enticing–Magdalen is placed  next to Edith, a lonely visionary spinster; a mystery woman with a sibylline invitation is  followed by Hagar. The poems are short and direct, but layered too–and the arrangement of these famous and unknown women adds another layer of meaning, allowing the poems to comment on one another and on the notion of womanhood in the Bible and in ordinary life.

The author, Philip Kolin, is Professor of English at the University of Southern Mississippi, and this is his fourth poetry book; his previous collection is Deep Wonder (Grey Owl Press, 2000)  . He also publishes books of scholarship on Shakespeare, Tennessee Williams, and other literary figures, and he has also edited poetry anthologies and scholarly journals.

The cover of A Parable of Women is an appropriate and teasing painting –Peter Paul Rubens’ The Holy Women at the Sepulchre (painted about 1614). It is an intriguing choice because while the scene is traditional, Rubens’ women are each very distinctive–especially the lady in bright red at the observer’s left, who is probably Mary Magdalen. Even angels on the right who confront the women have visible personalities. Kolin’s women are all deftly sketched individuals too, and each has her place in his overall picture.

These poems have a strong defined voice to them. Read the rest of this entry »

New Webstore

March 3rd, 2010

After a great deal of work and ingenuity on the part of our esteemed webmaster, we have now implemented a way for you to order your copies of The Penwood Review online.  We are making available upcoming issues, current subscriptions, and back issues.  All orders are done safely through PayPal.  Please let us know if you experience any problems or have suggestions.  We look forward to receiving the majority of future orders this way, and we hope you will appreciate the convenience.

New Website

July 6th, 2009

By now you are already aware of the complete and much-improved overhaul to our website, thanks to the creativity and expertise of our new webmaster, Yvonne Schakel. We hope you enjoy the new look of our website. In addition, we have made important changes to our submission guidelines and subscription rates. Feel free to click on the corresponding links to the left to learn more.

Copyright 1997 - 2018 The Penwood Review - Disclaimer - Sitemap